Human Rights

The mandate of the Human Rights Committee is to work both within our Local and the community to ensure equal rights for all people regardless of race, sex, creed, colour, marital status, sexual orientation, disability, political or religious affiliation or place of national origin, so long as the perceived rights of one do not infringe upon the rights of another. We will endeavour, in our committee work, to bring awareness and education to our Members and the community pertaining tothe struggles and the barriers that are faced still, today, in our workplaces and in society. Unifor fights for dignity, safety, fairness and equality for all its Members. Allies are particularly crucial in the struggle for true equality for our lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans Members.

Members for the Human Rights Committee are:

  1. Rob Sangra
  2. Fiona Liu
  3. Ralf Stewart
  4. Sybil Joseph
  5. Nicholas Khoo
  6. Amar Singh
  7. Brinder Thind
  8. Matt Maisonneuve
  9. Harpreet Anand
  10. Gurbir Manhas

Officers In-Charge

  • Mike McMillan
  • Ray Beattie